Prof.Dr. Frans Vanistendael 

Frans Vanistendael is Professor Emeritus of the Catholic University Leuven, Belgium. He taught national and international taxation (1971-2012) and was dean of the faculty (1999-2005). He was founder and president of the European Law Faculties Association, founding member of the European Association of Tax Law Professors and secretary-general of the association (2007-2013). He was a member of the Executive Committee (2001-2007) and of the Permanent Scientific Committee of IFA (2007-2013), and Director of the European Tax College (2000-2013).

Prof. Vanistendael served as cabinet adviser to several ministers of finance in Belgium, as Royal Commissioner of Tax Reform (1987), as member of the Ruding Committee on Corporate Tax Harmonisation in the EU (1992), and as consultant with the OECD, IMF and European Commission. He has written more than 400 books and articles on various tax subjects and was Editor-in-Chief of the EC Tax Review and of IBFD’s World Tax Journal until his retirement as Academic Chairman of IBFD.  Prof. Vanistendael is renowned for producing academic content at the highest of scientific standards and has long been distinguished as one of the most far-sighted scholars in the field of international tax law. For this purpose, it decided to introduce the IBFD Frans Vanistendael Award for International Tax Law, named after its well-esteemed former Academic Chairman.

 Prof.Dr. Romilda Rizzo

She is Full professor of Public Finance since 1990 and since 1993 at the University of Catania.  In 1989, she obtained a Ph. D. in Economics at the University of Buckingham. In 2013, she received a Degree of Doctor of Science honoris causa from the University of Buckingham.

She has directed several editions of the Postgraduate Master on the Economics of Cultural Sector held by the Scuola Superiore of the University of Catania (2001/02 – 2011/12) and has taught Economics for Cultural Heritage at the Master in Technology-Enhanced Communication for Cultural Heritage held by the University of Svizzera Italiana, Lugano (2006-2011). She was Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Catania (1994-1999), Coordinator of the Ph. D. program in Health Economics (XIII and XIV cycles); President of the B.A. program in Economics at the University of Catania  (2005/06 and 2006/07), President of the Discipline Committee for Full Professors of the University of Catania (May 2015 – February 2017).  Since December 2017, she is President of the Joint Committe Teachers–Students of the Department of Economics and Business.

She has received several non-academic appointments: she was member of the Italian National Public Works Authority (1999-2004), member of the Public Finance Advisory Committee at the Italian Treasury (2007-08) and also President of the National Anticorruption Authority for Evaluation and Transparency of Public Administration (2012-2014),  member of the Board of the Agency for Public Administrations Negotiation (ARAN) (September 2015 – August 2019) and member of the Board of the Consortium Alma Laurea (December 2016 – December 2019).

She has coordinated national and international research projects in the field of cultural economics and health economics and has collaborated with the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) (2000, 2006, 2010). She is President of the Italian Public Economics Society (SIEP) (2018 – );  she was President (2016-2018) of the Association for Cultural Economics International (ACEI) and is currently Member of the Executive Board.  She has published in many fields of public finance (Cultural Economics, Public Procurement, Performance measurement, Health Economics, Economics of Corruption) monographs and edited books, authoring also many referred articles in professional journals and several other articles and book chapters.